2009

Recent Restorations: 8mm Films of George & Mike Kuchar 12/10/2009

Thursday, December 10, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Recent Restorations

8mm Films of George & Mike Kuchar

Holding Patterns & Collective Memories 12/4/2009

Friday, December 4, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Holding Patterns & Collective Memories

Elise Baldwin & Kadet Kuhne in performance

Owen Land: Dialogues 12/1/2009

Tuesday, December 1, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Owen Land: Dialogues

Cinematheque Salon: Cinematheque Sing Along 11/24/2009

Tuesday, November 24, 2009Make-Out Room

Cinematheque Salon

Cinematheque Sing Along

Yvonne Rainer: Privilege 11/22/2009

Sunday, November 22, 2009San Francisco Art Institute

Yvonne Rainer: Privilege

Deborah Stratman: O'er the Land 11/19/2009

Thursday, November 19, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Deborah Stratman: O’er the Land

Deborah Stratman in-person

Running Up That Hill 11/6/2009

Friday, November 6, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Running Up That Hill

curated and presented by Michael Robinson

In Present Tense: Films of Ute Aurand 11/4/2009

Wednesday, November 4, 2009California College of the Arts

In Present Tense

Films of Ute Aurand

Hollis Frampton: Zorns Lemma & A Lecture 10/29/2009

Thursday, October 29, 2009McBean Theater (at the Exploratorium)

Hollis Frampton: Zorns Lemma & A Lecture

Cinematic Tribute: Films of Chick Strand 10/24/2009

Saturday, October 24, 2009Ninth Street Independent Film Center

Cinematic Tribute

Films of Chick Strand

After Day Comes Night & After That, Day Comes Again: A Tribute to Chick Strand 10/23/2009

Friday, October 23, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

After Day Comes Night…

A Tribute to Chick Strand

Dreaming Awake: How James Joyce Invented Experimental Cinema & Disguised it as a Book 10/13/2009

Tuesday, October 13, 2009Delancey Street Theater

Dreaming Awake

How James Joyce Invented Experimental Cinema & Disguised it as a Book

Sunday, October 11, 2009Studio for Urban Projects

Cinematheque Filmmakers Reception

[members only: free with RSVP]

Eyes Upside Down: P. Adams Sitney on Beavers, Brakhage & Sonbert 10/11/2009

Sunday, October 11, 2009California College of the Arts

Eyes Upside Down

P. Adams Sitney on Beavers, Brakhage & Sonbert

My Hand Outstretched to the Winged Distance and Sightless Measure, Program IV 10/10/2009

Saturday, October 10, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

My Hand Outstretched…

Films of Robert Beavers: Program IV

My Hand Outstretched to the Winged Distance and Sightless Measure, Program III 10/10/2009

Saturday, October 10, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

My Hand Outstretched…

Films of Robert Beavers: Program III

My Hand Outstretched to the Winged Distance and Sightless Measure, Program II 10/9/2009

Friday, October 9, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

My Hand Outstretched…

Films of Robert Beavers: Program II

My Hand Outstretched to the Winged Distance and Sightless Measure, Program I 10/8/2009

Thursday, October 8, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

My Hand Outstretched…

Films of Robert Beavers: Program I

Shocked by Existence: Recent Video Works by Ken Jacobs 10/6/2009

Tuesday, October 6, 2009California College of the Arts

Shocked by Existence

Recent Video Works by Ken Jacobs

Of Heaven & Earth: Films of Tom Chomont 9/29/2009

Tuesday, September 29, 2009San Francisco Art Institute

Of Heaven & Earth

Films of Tom Chomont

Gustav Deutsch: FILM IST. a girl & a gun 09/27/2009

Sunday, September 27, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Gustav Deutsch: FILM IST. a girl & a gun

Measurement in the Impermanence: Contemporary Japanese Avant-Garde Film 9/24/2009

Thursday, September 24, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Measurement in the Impermanence

Contemporary Japanese Avant-Garde Film

Sistiaga/Savage Republic 9/20/2009

Sunday, September 20, 2009Victoria Theatre

Sistiaga: ere erera baleibu icik subua aruaren

with a new score composed & performed by Savage Republic

Storm De Hirsch: Peyote Queen

Wednesday, April 15, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Treasures IV: American Avant-Garde Film

Mark Street: Hidden in Plain Sight 04/08/2009

Wednesday, April 8, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Mark Street: Hidden In Plain Sight

Tony Conrad

Sunday, April 5, 2009San Francisco Art Institute

Tony Conrad: Flickering Jewel

Program Three: Flicker & Process Films/Works on Video

Tony Conrad: Flickering Jewel, Program Two 04/04/2009

Saturday, April 4, 2009San Francisco Art Institute

Tony Conrad: Flickering Jewel

Program Two: Performances for Film & Sound

Tony Conrad: Flickering Jewel, Program One 04/03/2009

Friday, April 3, 2009San Francisco Art Institute

Tony Conrad: Flickering Jewel

Program One: Window, Perspective, Shadows Lecture

Restoring and Rediscovering the Los Angeles Avant-Garde 04/01/2009

Wednesday, April 1, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Restoring & Rediscovering the Los Angeles Avant-Garde

This is My Land: Ben Rivers' Portraits and Landscapes 03/29/2009

Sunday, March 29, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

This is My Land

Ben Rivers' Portraits and Landscapes

sfc_event_image2

Wednesday, March 25, 2009Ninth Street Independent Film Center

Cinematheque Salon

[Members-Only]

Lunchfilm: Film Before Food 03/22/2009

Sunday, March 22, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Lunchfilm

Film Before Food

ConnerMONGOLOID_1

Thursday, March 19, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Crossroads: The Films of Bruce Conner

Program Two

A MOVIE

Wednesday, March 18, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Crossroads: The Films of Bruce Conner

Program One

031509_Iimura-takahiko_i_am_not_seen_1

Sunday, March 15, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Observer Observed: Film/Video Works by Takahiko Iimura

Program Two: On Time in Film

031409_Iimura-takahiko_dance_party_1

Saturday, March 14, 2009Sundance Kabuki Cinemas

Observer Observed: Film/Video Works by Takahiko Iimura

Program One: ‘60s Experiments & Early Conceptual Videos

031109_plas-marc_peribole

Wednesday, March 11, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Encounters with Contemporary French Film

curated and presented by Sandra Davis in association with the Consulat général de France

Nathaniel Dorsky: Three Songs 03/05/2009

Thursday, March 5, 2009San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Nathaniel Dorsky: Three Songs

Robinson-holdme

Wednesday, February 25, 2009Artist's Television Access

Episodes of Anomie

Recent Films by Gatten & Stead, Marias & Natkin, Price, Robinson and Worden

savage-eye

Wednesday, February 18, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Joseph Strick: The Savage Eye & Muscle Beach Restored

jetpack

Wednesday, February 11, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Elemental Dispositions

Recent Films by Stratman, Stark, Rebello, Pryce, Takashi and Kitchen

Ken Jacobs: Razzle Dazzle 2/04/2009

Wednesday, February 4, 2009Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Ken Jacobs: Razzle Dazzle