2017

Saturday, December 9, 2017LA HABANA INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF NEW LATIN AMERICAN CINEMA

If It Makes You Happy/Restless Views

La Habana International Festival of New Latin American Cinema

Thursday, December 14, 2017THE KANBAR FORUM, THE EXPLORATORIUM

Paul Clipson/Zachary Watkins: Black Field

WORLD PREMIERE

Friday, December 8, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Stan Brakhage: Metaphors on Vision

Light Industry's Thomas Beard In Person

Thursday, November 9, 2017ARTISTS' TELEVISION ACCESS

Resistance Made Visual

Animations by Kelly Gallagher

Thursday, November 16, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Center of Gravity: Gunvor Nelson & Dorothy Wiley, program 2

Short films from 1967-1973

Saturday, November 4, 2017CENTER FOR NEW MUSIC

Light Moves Like Sound Waves: Lynne Sachs & Stephen Vitiello

Program Two: Sound Cues From Wings

Friday, October 13, 2017GRAY AREA / GRAND THEATER

The Fall of Love

Kenneth Anger + Etienne O’Leary + People Like Us + Masako Tanaka

Saturday, October 14, 2017GRAY AREA / GRAND THEATER

The Fall of Love

Kenneth Anger + Etienne O’Leary + People Like Us + Masako Tanaka

Friday, November 3, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Light Moves Like Sound Waves: Lynne Sachs & Stephen Vitiello

Program one: Lynne Sachs’ Tip of My Tongue

Tuesday, October 17, 2017SAN FRANCISCO ART INSTITUTE-OSHER LECTURE HALL

Center of Gravity: Gunvor Nelson & Dorothy Wiley, program 1

Five Artists: BillBobBillBillBob

Thursday, September 14, 2017CENTER FOR NEW MUSIC

New Beginnings

Works by Su Friedrich, Larry Gottheim and Rei Hayama

Thursday, September 21, 2017CENTER FOR NEW MUSIC

Suspended Belief

Nine Films from Northern California

Friday, September 22, 2017ARTSY

Cinematheque’s Seventh Annual Benefit Art Auction

Bidding is live September 7–22

Tuesday, August 15, 2017CENTER FOR NEW MUSIC

Ding Xin: Blood Beneath

Ding Xin (aka Sandy Ding) In Person

Saturday, July 22, 2017CORNER THEATER — BUSAN

lost reflections and intangible objects

Presented as part of EXiS 2017

Saturday, July 22, 2017CORNER THEATER — BUSAN

If It Makes You Happy (Traces)

Presented as part of EXiS 2017

Sunday, July 16, 2017EXIS: KOREAN FILM ARCHIVE

Suspended Belief: Nine Films from Northern California

Presented as part of EXiS 2017

Wednesday, June 28, 2017PRO ARTS

Canyon Cinema 50: Deborah Stratman

Deborah Stratman In Person

Wednesday, June 7, 2017CRATER-LAB

CRATER-Lab: We Live in Cities/Life Without Buildings
Films by Steve Polta

Barcelona, Spain

Wednesday, June 7, 2017CRATER-LAB

CRATER-Lab: sea to shining sea (we are stuck on this rock) v.3

Barcelona, Spain

Saturday, June 3, 2017CGAI (FILMOTECA DE GALICIA)

S(8) Mostra de Cinema Periférico: Light Events

Steve Polta in Person

Sunday, June 4, 2017SALA MUNICIPAL DE EXPOSITIONS PALEXCO

S(8) Mostra De Cinema Periférico: CROSSROADS 2017 Invited Festival

Steve Polta in Person

Thursday, June 29, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

The Illinois Parables

Deborah Stratman In Person

Saturday, June 3, 2017CASTRO THEATRE

A Page of Madness
(Kurutta Ichipeiji)

with musical accompaniment by Alloy Orchestra

Thursday, May 11, 2017BERKELEY ART MUSEUM AND PACIFIC FILM ARCHIVE

Elegy to Ecstasy with Edith Kramer

Antonella Bonfanti and Edith Kramer in conversation

Friday, May 19, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS 2017: May 19-21

Full Festival Line-Up

Sunday, May 21, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 9:
a few (lost) reflections

Sunday, May 21, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 8:
the photon doesn’t give a damn

Sunday, May 21, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 7:
a thought comes into your head (like an object)

Sunday, May 21, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 6:
at the foot of a great monument (this ain’t no storybook)

Saturday, May 20, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 4:
if it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad

Saturday, May 20, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 3:
a great unknown called trust

Friday, May 19, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 2:
Travis Wilkerson: Did You Wonder Who Fired the Gun?

Friday, May 19, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CROSSROADS program 1:
sea to shining sea (we are stuck on this rock)

Saturday, April 15, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

CANYON CINEMA 50: Guy Maddin presents
The Great Blondino and other delights

presented in association with the San Francisco International Film Festival

Friday, April 7, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

World Without End (No Reported Incidents)

presented in association with the San Francisco International Film Festival

Thursday, April 6, 2017SAN FRANCISCO MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

El Mar La Mar

presented in association with the San Francisco International Film Festival

Saturday, April 8, 2017BERKELEY ART MUSEUM AND PACIFIC FILM ARCHIVE

Who Cares. Who Sees: Experimental Shorts

presented in association with the San Francisco International Film Festival

Monday, April 10, 2017ROXIE THEATRE

Who Cares. Who Sees: Experimental Shorts

presented in association with the San Francisco International Film Festival

Saturday, March 11, 2017THE KANBAR FORUM, THE EXPLORATORIUM

Expanded Cinema Workshop with Alex MacKenzie

Alex MacKenzie in Person

Saturday, March 11, 2017THE KANBAR FORUM, THE EXPLORATORIUM

Expanded Cinema Selections from the Canyon Collection

Presented by Alex Mackenzie

Friday, March 10, 2017THE KANBAR FORUM, THE EXPLORATORIUM

Alex MacKenzie: Apparitions

Alex MacKenzie in Person

Thursday, February 16, 2017THE KANBAR FORUM, THE EXPLORATORIUM

Changing the Shape of Film: An Evening with Barbara Hammer

a Canyon Cinema Salon

Sunday, March 26, 2017CENTER FOR NEW MUSIC

Tony Conrad: Completely in the Present, Program 2

The Flicker and other films

Friday, March 24, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Tony Conrad: Completely in the Present, Program 1

Director Tyler Hubby in person

Saturday, February 4, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

El Pueblo: Searching for Contemporary Latin America, Program 2: Performing the Portrait.

Curated and Presented by Federico Windhausen

Friday, February 3, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

El Pueblo: Searching for Contemporary Latin America, Program 1: From Passage to Chronicle.

Curated and Presented by Federico Windhausen

Friday, January 13, 2017PIER 70

UNTITLED, San Francisco

Bridging the Divide, January 13–15

Friday, January 27, 2017YERBA BUENA CENTER FOR THE ARTS

Ken Jacobs’ Two Wrenching Departures