Tortured Dust (1984) by Stan Brakhage

Thursday, September 26, 1985, 8:00 pm

Stan Brakhage’s Tortured Dust


800 Chestnut Street

San Francisco, CA, 94133

Released in 1984, Tortured Dust is one of Brakhage’s major works of the 1980s. The 4-part, 90-minute film completes a monumental work begun 17 years ago titled “The Book of Film” that also includes Scenes from Under Childhood, the Sincerity/Duplicity series and other films. Tortured Dust focuses on Brakhage’s two teenage sons, following them as they roam about their cabin. It culminates with footage of the Brakhages’ first grandchild, bringing to full circle a work that began with footage of their own infant children. This is the first of two programs devoted to Brakhage’s recent films, the second being held on Sept. 28. Brakhage himself will be present in April 1986 with another two film programs.