CROSSROADS 2022 Online Echo
September 22–October 16

presented by San Francisco Cinematheque
curated by Steve Polta

San Francisco Cinematheque makes it a priority to pay artists for all works presented, whether in our cinema space screenings
or in online exhibitions.
The support of individuals such as yourself is essential to our work.

Please consider making a donation or becoming a member today.

CROSSROADS 2022 was the thirteenth manifestation of Cinematheque’s annual film festival. Featuring 67 works of film, video and performance by 71 artists representing 18 countries and territories, CROSSROADS 2022 was presented at Gray Area August 26–28.

By popular demand, Cinematheque proudly presents the CROSSROADS 2022 online echo, a cross-sectional sampler of select works representing themes of the year’s festival, including considerations of the contrasts between individual sensual experience and the rise of the corporate media state; the ongoing collisions and interminglings between analog and electronic media; the role intimacy plays in the spaces of public communication and the narration of generational lineage. The CROSSROADS 2022 Online Echo is presented worldwide to the public free of charge.

CROSSROADS 2022 Online Echo 1
shadows tremble
program online September 22–October 16
SCREENING: Curve the Night Sky (2021) by Peggy Ahwesh (US); digital video, color, sound, 5 minutes. THAT WAS WHEN I THOUGHT I COULD HEAR YOU (2021) by Matt Whitman (US); digital video, color, silent, 9 minutes. The Girl Who Is (2021) by Sara Sowell (US); digital video, b&w, sound, 6 minutes. Paper Bag Test (2019) by Trevon Jakaar Coleman (US); digital video, color, sound, 5 minutes. Wasteland No. 3: Moons, Sons (2021) by Jodie Mack (US/UK); 16mm, color, silent, 5 minutes. Feriado (2021) by Azucena Losana (Mexico/Argentina); digital video, b&w, sound, 2 minutes. Configurations (2021) by James Edmonds (UK/Germany); 16mm, color, sound, 8 minutes. Solace (2021) by Chantal Partamian (Lebanon): digital video, color, sound, 1 minute. from time without beginning (2021) by Lorenzo Gattorna (US); digital video, color, sound, 7 minutes. Estuary (2021) by Ross Meckfessel (US); 16mm, color, sound, 12 minutes. Dreams Under Confinement (2020) by Christopher Harris (US); digital video, color, sound, 3 minutes. Full details here.

CROSSROADS 2022 Online Echo 2
space to stretch my longing
program online September 22–October 16
SCREENING: Time Crystals (2021) by Abinadi Meza (Wixárika); digital video, color, sound, 6 minutes. Light Signal (2022) by Emily Chao (US); digital video, color, sound, 13 minutes. The Day Lives Briefly Unscented (2021) by Brandon Wilson (US); digital video, color, sound, 4 minutes. Lácrimas (2021) by Jeremy Moss (US); digital video, color, sound, 14 minutes. First Hypnotic Suggestion (2020) by Brittany Gravely (US) & Ken Linehan (US); 16mm double projection, color, sound, 10 minutes. Up Close (2021) by Sam Gurry (US); digital video, color, sound, 3 minutes. Dans les cieux et sur la terre (2022) by Erin Weisgerber (Canada); 16mm screened as digital video, color, sound, 12 minutes.
Full details here.

Director: Steve Polta
CROSSROADS Festival Manager: India Nemer
CROSSROADS Tech Directors (Gray Area screenings): Kent Long & Vanessa O’Neill
CROSSROADS 2022 trailer: Gina Basso
CROSSROADS 2022 design: Courtney Fellion
Cinematheque Archives Manager: Megan Needles
Accounting: Vanessa O’Neill
Festival Associate: Ashley Cole
Communications Manager: Jacob LeMatty
Web Developer: Marlo Longley
Cinematheque Board of Directors: Orit Ben-Shitrit, Michael Campos-Quinn, Ellen Lake, Diana Sánchez Maciel, Marie Martraire, Diego Villalobos
Cinematheque Advisory Council: Steve Anker, Gina Basso, Miriam Gendreau, Steven Jenkins, Mark McElhatten, Brent Miller, Oona Mosna, Carissa Potter, Kathleen Quillian, Anne Stone
CROSSROADS Community Partners: Artists’ Television Access, Canyon Cinema, the Center for New Music and Shapeshifters Cinema.
San Francisco Cinematheque and CROSSROADS 2022 are supported by contributions from the California Arts Council, California Revealed the Fleishhacker Foundation, the Hobson/Lucas Family Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund/Grants for the Arts and Cinematheque’s Members and Donors.

Special Thanks for support, assistance and inspiration is extended to: aCinema; Fara Akrami; Alchemy Film and Moving Image Festival; Ann Arbor Film Festival; Anthology Film Archives; The Archive Project at SFSU; BAMPFA; Craig Baldwin; Gina Basso; Jenny Bitner; Alix Blevins; Antonella Bonfanti; Colin Brant; Canyon Cinema; the Center for New Music; COUSIN; Jordan Cronk; Larry Daressa; John Davis; Greg DeCuir, Jr.; Desistfilm; Dobra: Festival Internacional de Cinema Experimental; Elena Duque; Experiments in Cinema; Jesse Hawthorne Ficks; Flaherty Film Seminar; FLEX; Isabel Fondevila; Michael Fox; Dennis Harvey; Sky Hopinka; Images Festival; INCITE Journal of Experimental Media; International Film Festival Rotterdam; Kadist; Kala Art Institute; KALX; Brett Kashmere; Liz Keim; Kim Knowles; Kino Rebelde; Anna Kipervaser; Bryan Konefsky; LaborBerlin; Mary Lattimore; David Lawrence; Hangjun Lee; Light Cone; Light Field; Sarah Lightfoot; Light Industry; LUX; McEvoy Foundation for the Arts; Media City Film Festival; Christine Metropoulos; Microscope Gallery; Milwaukee Underground Film Festival; Seth Mitter; Madeleine Molyneaux; Mono No Aware; Suki O’Kane; Onion City Film Festival; Other Cinema; Adam Piron; Rick Prelinger; Megan Shaw Prelinger; Prismatic Ground; Jill Rogers; the Roxie Theater; Picture Palace Pictures; [S8] Mostra de Cinema Periférico; Lynne Sachs; Linda Scobie; Shapeshifters Cinema; Steve Seid; Joel Shepard; Michael Sicinski; sixpackfilm; Lex Sloan; Vivian Sming; Sharon Spain; Brad Steinberg; Courtney Stephens; Scott Stark; The Temenos; Telematic Media Arts; the Tenderloin Museum; Leslie Thornton; TIFF/Wavelengths; Mark Toscano; Kathleen Tyner; Kitty Velvet; Ellie Vanderlip; Video Data Bank; Andy Warhol; Tanya Zimbardo.

In Memoriam: Mindaugis Bagdon; Robert Fox; Dale Hoyt; Jim Jennings; Dore O; Martin Rumsby; Charles Wright; Nick Zedd